Everything below is drawn from one source: the City of Aurora's own purchasing documents for Flock Group Inc. Each entry names the purchase order or change order it comes from. Where the documents are silent, this page says so.
This is an independent public-records project. It is not affiliated with the City of Aurora, the Aurora Police Department, or Flock Safety.
The chronology
How Flock came to Aurora
From a single master agreement signed in March 2024, the City of Aurora's business with Flock Safety grew in two years from license-plate cameras to a drone fleet, across one base contract, three change orders, and four further purchase orders.
Where the dates come from
This timeline is built only from the documents listed on the Records page: Aurora purchase orders (PO), contract change orders (CO), and the Master Services Agreement (MSA) dated March 5, 2024. Several of the purchase orders are redacted copies. Dates are the dates printed on the documents themselves — the date a change order was “entered into,” the date a purchase order was issued, or a signature date, as noted in each entry.
No council agenda item approving or announcing these awards is included here, because none appears in this document set. Two of the awards state only that they were “reported on the weekly report to Council” on a given date. The scope of this page is these records and nothing beyond them.
The timeline
-
February 5, 2024
Aurora's first Flock award surfaces in a weekly report to City Council City record
Purchase Order 24P0294, the City's first Flock award, records that it was “reported on the weekly report to Council dated 02/05/2024.” The document shows a report to Council, not a recorded council vote to approve the purchase.[1]
-
March 5, 2024
The City signs a Master Services Agreement with Flock, and issues a $350,550 camera award the same day City record
The Master Services Agreement between the City of Aurora and Flock Group Inc. takes effect on March 5, 2024. It is the umbrella contract that every later award incorporates “by reference.”[2]
On the same date, Purchase Order 24P0294 is issued for $350,550.00 to cover “automated license plate readers (ALPR) including product installations, materials, labor and support,” awarded under solicitation R-2356. The order sets a contract term of March 5, 2024 through March 4, 2025. It does not state how many cameras the lot contains.[1]
-
April 29, 2024
Change Order 1 adds data retention and two deployable cameras; the contract rises to $377,550 City record
Change Order No. 1 to PO 24P0294 increases the contract by $27,000.00, from $350,550.00 to $377,550.00. It raises data retention to one year ($20,000/year) and acquires “two (2) mobile/temporary Falcon Flex (battery power) deployable cameras” at $3,500 each per year. The form is marked “Involves Federal Funds? NO.” It is signed for Flock by Mark Smith.[3]
-
August 21, 2024
Change Order 2 corrects a storage cost “omitted in error”; the contract rises to $378,249.94 City record
Change Order No. 2 increases the contract by $699.94, to $378,249.94. Its stated purpose is to “increase funding to accommodate storage costs omitted in error by the city associated with change order 1.”[4]
-
September 21, 2024
Change Order 3 puts Flock software on 20 city-owned cameras; the contract reaches $408,249.94 City record
Change Order No. 3 increases the contract by $30,000.00, to $408,249.94. It adds “twenty (20) Wing App Integrations for City of Aurora owned AXIS Q1700LE and P-1465-LE LPR cameras” — that is, Flock's software applied to cameras the City already owns. The order states the City will pay the full $30,000 and “receive a $15,000 credit from Flock on March 5, 2025 renewal in order to co-terminate.” The attached amendment lists “Flock Safety Wing™ LPR” at quantity 20 and a “Wing Implementation Fee” of $0.00. It is signed for Flock by Mark Smith, General Counsel (September 18, 2024), and for the City by Jeff Lehmann (September 22, 2024).[5]
-
March 10, 2025
A second contract puts 20 Flock cameras on the School Resource Officer unit City record
Purchase Order 25P0207 awards $66,600.00 for “twenty (20) license plate reader (LPR) cameras for Aurora Police Department School Resource Officer unit including implementation and extended data retention for year 1 of 2.” The attached Flock order form lists 20 “Flock Safety LPR, fka Falcon” cameras, a 24-month initial term, 24-month renewal term, and a 365-day retention period. Its contract total is $130,200.00 — an annual recurring $63,600, a $3,000 implementation fee, and a $4,800 discount. The award cites City Code 2-674-6 and was “reported on the weekly report to Council dated 03/25/25.” It is signed by Jeff Lehmann.[6]
-
April 29, 2025
A third award adds $291,000 more in license-plate readers City record
Purchase Order 25P0332 awards $291,000.00 for “automated license plate readers (ALPR) including product installations, materials, labor and support,” listed as a single unit. It sets a term of March 5, 2025 through March 4, 2026, cites City Code 2-674-1, and was “reported on the weekly report to Council dated 04/21/25.” Like the first ALPR award, it does not state a camera count. It is signed by Kristin Chewiwi.[7]
-
November 2025
Change Order 4 adds a drone program worth up to $1.5 million City record
Change Order / Amendment No. 4 amends the 2024 Master Services Agreement to add a “Drone Hardware and Services” product addendum and statement of work for the Aurora Police Department's Drone as First Responder (DFR) program. The attached order form lists six “Flock Aerodome DFR — M4TD + Dock 3” units and sets a Year 1 subtotal of $500,000.00, an annual recurring $500,000.00, and a contract total of $1,500,000.00 over three years, billed annually at “first docking station validation.”
The package includes FAA regulatory services, standard-operating-procedure development, training, and support, with a minimum of eight batteries per drone per year. A clause provides that if Chinese-made drones (such as DJI) are legally prohibited, Flock will supply NDAA-compliant “Alpha” replacement drones — three by the end of Q2 2026 and three more by December 31, 2026. The amendment notes any renewal beyond the first year is “subject to City of Aurora annual appropriation of funds,” and that the award “will be issued via separate PO due to different expiration terms.”[8]
-
November 26, 2025
PO1222 funds the drone program's first year: $500,000 City record
Purchase Order PO1222 awards $500,000.00 for “drones, accessories, services, and training for the Aurora Police Department Drone as First Responder (DFR) program,” priced per the order form in Amendment No. 4. Its period of performance runs December 1, 2025 through November 30, 2026, “not to exceed $500,000.00 without prior approval” by written change order. The listed city contact is Lt. Jeremy Sexton.[9]
-
March 12, 2026
PO1367 renews the Flock camera subscription for another year: $348,700 City record
Purchase Order PO1367 awards $348,700.00 for the “Flock Safety License Plate Reader Cameras Annual Renewal,” priced per renewal Quote #Q-177655. Its period of performance runs March 6, 2026 through March 5, 2027. The listed city contact is Jennifer Cresto. It is signed by Jeff Lehmann and dated March 12, 2026.[10]
What the documents leave open
These records establish the contracts and their costs. They do not, within this set, establish the physical locations of the cameras, the number of cameras in the two largest ALPR awards ($350,550 and $291,000), the data-sharing settings in use, or any council vote approving the purchases. Those questions are noted here as open rather than answered, because the answers are not in these documents.
Some are addressed, from outside sources, on the Context page — news reporting and official statements, kept separate from this document-only timeline and cited there.
Citations
Every citation below is a City of Aurora purchasing record. Document numbers are the City's own identifiers; such records are obtainable through the Colorado Open Records Act (CORA).
- City of Aurora Purchase Order 24P0294, issued March 5, 2024 ($350,550.00; ALPR; solicitation R-2356; reported to Council February 5, 2024). ↩ ↩
- City of Aurora & Flock Group Inc., Master Services Agreement, effective March 5, 2024. ↩
- City of Aurora Change Order No. 1 to PO 24P0294, dated April 29, 2024 (+$27,000.00 to $377,550.00; one-year retention; two Falcon Flex cameras). ↩
- City of Aurora Change Order No. 2 to PO 24P0294, dated August 21, 2024 (+$699.94 to $378,249.94; storage cost correction). ↩
- City of Aurora Change Order No. 3 / Flock Amendment to PO 24P0294, dated September 21, 2024 (+$30,000.00 to $408,249.94; 20 Wing integrations on city-owned cameras). ↩
- City of Aurora Purchase Order 25P0207 and attached Flock order form, dated March 10, 2025 ($66,600.00 Year 1 of 2; 20 LPR cameras for the SRO unit; contract total $130,200.00; City Code 2-674-6). ↩
- City of Aurora Purchase Order 25P0332, dated April 29, 2025 ($291,000.00; ALPR; City Code 2-674-1; reported to Council April 21, 2025). ↩
- City of Aurora Change Order / Amendment No. 4 to the Master Services Agreement, November 2025 (Drone Hardware and Services addendum and SOW; six Flock Aerodome DFR units; contract total $1,500,000.00). ↩
- City of Aurora Purchase Order PO1222, dated November 26, 2025 ($500,000.00; DFR drone program; period of performance December 1, 2025–November 30, 2026). ↩
- City of Aurora Purchase Order PO1367, dated March 12, 2026 ($348,700.00; annual LPR camera renewal; Quote #Q-177655; period of performance March 6, 2026–March 5, 2027). ↩